January 2016 Favourites…

I haven’t done a favourites post since October last year!  Mainly because I moved house and have had no internet for what feels like forever!  So I promise to stick to doing the whole 12 posts this year.

I have four products for my January favourites and they are mix of newly discovered products and ones I’ve had for a while but seemed to use more last month.


I’ll try to link all the products at the end of this post.

Simple Kind to Skin Hydrating Moisturiser

The first product I’ve gone back to using in January is Simple’s Kind to Skin Hydrating Moisturiser.  I used this moisturiser at the start of last year and I’m not really sure why I stopped using it.

If you’re looking for a cream that will provide you with great hydration but won’t weigh down or feel greasy on your skin then this is the perfect product for this.  Because I have oily/combination as well as sensitive skin, I find a lot of moisturisers don’t react well.  I’ve also found that my Proactiv+ moisturiser doesn’t work well under foundation causing it to have a cracked/creased appearance.

This one is quite runny in texture and when first applied it doesn’t feel like it’s going to sink in but after a minute it’s fully absorbed.  As with most (if not all) Simple products it’s unscented and doesn’t contain anything that will upset your skin.

I tend to use more of this at night on my face and give it a few minutes to do it’s work.  In the morning a tiny amount is more than enough before applying any makeup.

Nivea Daily Essentials Express Hydration Primer 

This is a product I’ve seen quite a lot in blogs and/or Instagram so while it was on offer in Boots I picked it up.  I’ve only been using this if I’ve had a night out or anything on that makes me want a better base for my foundation.  So far I’m really impressed with this.  It’s non-greasy, lightweight and provides a perfect base for my makeup.   It’s scented so might not be suitable for all skin types but I’ve not experienced any problems.

The Multiple Nars 

This was something included in the Nars Glossybox back in November.  The shade is the classic Orgasm and I’ve completely fallen in love with this product.  I love the fact it can be used with a non-makeup look or built up for a more defined blush.  When paired with the orgasm blush the results are amazing.  I’ve used this nearly every day in January.

Maybelline Brow Drama

This eyebrow crayon has been my best find in January.  I don’t like traditional brow pencils, always opting for powder, but this gives me such good results I’ve hardly used my brow box.  I choose the dark brown shade as I’ve recently had my roots darkened so it matches much better than the lighter one.

Maybelline The Falsies Push Up Drama

Goodbye false lashes! A phrase I didn’t think I would ever be able to say.  The last two times I’ve had a special occasion I’ve not needed to add lashes to my makeup look after using this mascara.  Of course this completely depends on how you like your lashes to look.  I’ve never gone for really full, over the top lashes so this is perfect for me.

Tip – I’ve been using Benefit’s lash tint primer before this mascara to really help lift my lashes.

Product Links

Simple Moisturiser 

Nivea Primer

Brow Drama Crayon

Maybelline Mascara 

The Multiple, Nars 

H xx

 

Leave a comment